Spasticity and marijuana/ THC/ cannabis

Spasticity and marijuana/ THC/ cannabis

Posted by Kristy on Dec 10, 2013 5:13 pm

For anyone with spasticity issues, please watch this:
http://sploid.gizmodo.com/watch-the-instant-change-when-girl-with-cerebral-palsy-1478892426/@maxread

I am a physician with MS, quadriplegic, with significant spasticity. I was able to cut my Baclofen dosage in half by adding low dose THC. Marijuana is illegal in Florida, so I use prescribed Marinol, at over $1000/mo (thanks, insurance!). I am not stoned all the time; in fact, I am a university professor.

Spasticity is a huge problem for for many SCI, MS, and CP patients, among others. Marijuana is effective, CAN be inexpensive (where legal), and has an impressive safety record. 

Why aren't we pushing for nationwide legalization?

RE: Spasticity and marijuana/ THC/ cannabis

Posted by 2B on Dec 30, 2013 8:50 am

Because it is a natural herb, I think that the drug companies are most probably the largest group lobbying against legalization.  It might cut into their profits.  I have never tried marijuana, but would not discount it as an option if my pain progresses.  The pain varies so much and often is intensified at the worst of times.  I have hade three days now that I woke up without pain and I think that consistent TENs accupunture therapy has probably been the reason for that.  Also this holiday season I had a bad flu, which made me a little more cautious afterward, so I have been taking it slow and not going out as much.

Posted by JC on Jan 22, 2014 5:09 pm