My son is paralyzed

My son is paralyzed

Posted by Marva45426 on Aug 19, 2013 5:37 pm

My son was shot in July 2012, and at the time I was at work when I found out it was devastating to me.  He is only 20 years old, and he is paralyzed from his shoulders down.  He has been in several hospitals, and a nursing home.  I promised him to bring him home, and I did after a struggle.  Now he is home, and it is so hard to vent when I have no one to vent to.  My husband helps but he doesn't really know how I feel.  The most important thing is I don't know what to do, because he don't want to even get out of bed, and I feel that he has given up on me as well as himself.

RE: My son is paralyzed

Posted by Arlene on Aug 20, 2013 4:56 pm

give him time. I have a spinal cord injury which happened in 1972 !! I was 22 at the time of my accident. I was paralyzed also from the shoulders down, but nerves CAN and Do regenerate.long . It is hard to lose the life you have known. I was a professional water skier at ABC Marine World in Calif.  I was also going to college at the same time. I decided not to marry the assistant water ski director because I did not think he could cope with my problems, which WAS a very good decision, he couldn't have. I had to relearn to walk twice due to surgeries and errors in the surgery. I did NOT have any support from my family.  My mother actually said "no one wants to hear about your problems". THAT was a huge slap in my face and I went into a LONG depression. I would say keep talking and ask if he wants to talk, open the door and keep it open. If he wants to stay in bed let him, he will decide when he is ready to get out of bed. There is NO life In bed, I found that out, especially when you can't even do what others do in bed. Don't push, Don't pull, just be there if and when he needs you. I had to reinvent my life, I am now married to the same man for 25 years, I feel guilty that I cannot be a "normal" wife, but for some reason he loves me just for m