New caregiver

New caregiver

Posted by SheliaE on Apr 7, 2015 9:03 pm

I am new to all this. My husband suffered a C-2 fracture 4 weeks ago. He just moved to select Specialty Hospital yesterday to start the second phase of his recovery. I must admit that my head is spinning with all the information all the doctors have given me. From wanting me to make 'quality of life' call , to seeing some controlled movement in his legs.
I really don't know why I am writing this, maybe just knowing there are others out there that have been in my the beginning of this new life. Feeling overwhelmed by everything that needs to be done. Feeling so alone, but also feeling smothered.
thank you to any who listened to me ramble on.
And thank you for such a wonderful organization 

Re: New caregiver

Posted by AskNurseLinda on Apr 8, 2015 8:14 pm

Hi, SheliaE, welcome to the site. I hear from many new caregivers. What your spouse is going through is something but it is the caregiver who is the one to carry the family at least for awhile. The decisions that have to be made are more than overwhelming. Don't put pressure on yourself to know everything all at once. You will have some time at the Specialty Hospital to learn. The staff will help you in incremental stages. If you don't quite get it today, you have more time to figure it all out. When you transition to a different care setting, it is like starting all over but you will do it because you can.Reading the site, you will see many others who lead successful and productive lives. You will, too.  We are all here to help you. Nurse, Linda

Posted by Eileen on Apr 14, 2015 9:14 pm