Please help me through this project for my BA. I'm begging anyone for help.

Please help me through this project for my BA. I'm begging anyone for help.

Posted by Ellymay4 on May 2, 2017 4:22 pm

My name is Shannon, I am a student at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, IL. I am in the Rehabilitation program, set to graduate spring of 2018. I am currently working on a project on quadraplegics. My ex fiance (he broke up with me) was paralyzed when a tree fell on him in a logging accident, in Sept 2012. This project is triggering me so badly, that my professor is begging me to change topics. I refuse. I want to help the families and patients get through this, because I can honestly look a family member in the eye and say, I promise, it gets easier. It gets better.
Every time I try to work on this project, it triggers me, and I have a complete and total meltdown. Not only from his accident, but also how his family reacted after the accident. They tried to kill me because I wanted him to live. His injury was T9 incomplete. He gave up and never regained any movement. Which crushes me. He had nothing to live for after his family forced us apart.
I need serious help. I've seen counselor after counselor, and they all suggest that I power through this, because I want to work with families and patients so badly. I have been in their shoes. I know what they are thinking and feeling. My professors have told me that the kind of experience I have, can not be trained. So there is no one better to help a family member through this than someone that has been there.
I did help a family through an accident in Sept 2016. It was very difficult for me, but I made it. His wife told me she wouldn't have made it without my guidance. So that made me feel good.