My Paralympic Experience by Marc Fenn

My Paralympic Experience by Marc Fenn

Posted by Community Admin on Aug 29, 2016 11:15 am

When I was a young boy my adopted father wanted to teach me how to throw shot put and discus. Later in life I asked him why he taught me that and he replied:  “it’s the only sport-event that I know how to do so I will pass it on to you.” So from age 8 till I graduated from high school I learned how to throw the shot put and discus. Over the years I got lucky and broke several school records as I progressed through school. I had always dreamed to be an Olympic athlete but always knew I was just average at my event. 

In 1988 I joined the United States Military Army. I served 2 years in Infantry Airborne Unit stationed in Alaska. It was a great time, but it killed my training. in 1990 I received a shoulder injury that warranted an honorable medical discharge. A month and a few days after my discharge I fell off a roof working part time till college started back up. I became a paraplegic T-10 complete, I felt like life was over and there was no future to achieve, but luckily I ran into a mentor for the hospital and got playing wheelchair basketball and doing adapted recreation.